The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) was formed in the wake of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, as part of a determined national effort to safeguard the United States against terrorism. DHS uses geospatial technology to support the five homeland security missions:
1. Prevent terrorism and enhancing security
2. Secure and manage our borders
3. Enforce and administer our immigration laws
4. Safeguard and secure cyberspace
5. Ensure resilience to disasters

Some of the key DHS components who use geospatial information and technology to support this mission set include: United States Customs and Border Protection (CBP), United States Coast Guard (USCG), Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Office of Health Affairs (OHA), United States Secret Service (USSS), Transportation Security Administration (TSA), National Protection and Programs Directorate (NPPD), Federal Law Enforcement Training Center (FLETC), Intelligence and Analysis (I&A), and Operations and Coordination (OPS).

Additionally, the Geospatial Management Office (GMO) serves within the DHS Chief Information Office and exercises executive leadership in establishing DHS geospatial information technology programs, directives, and initiatives and provides oversight for the integration of geospatial data and technology. It serves as the principal office to facilitate all interagency activities relating to domestic geospatial and remote sensing data to support the needs of homeland security related intelligence, law enforcement, environmental, scientific, and emergency response requirements.